Join the Community
and take part in the story

Hitachi Content Platform and OpenIO

Some guys get their kicks with Call of Duty or with PES. I get mine testing stuff which, mostly, I’ve never worked with before.

It’s a blend of fun and need (for work purposes).

I believe I saw some article about OpenIO when I was looking for Object Storage related articles.

At first, it looked a bit out of scope because the S3 connection was based on a Gateway so I let it go but the name kept popping on more feeds so I decided to try it to see if I could use it as a Hitachi Content Platform external repository.

This is the process used.

Install a small virtual environment for OpenIO with 3 data nodes and one gateway (CENTOS vms with 100GB storage and 2GB RAM), as described here.

All settings were let as default. After testing the access with aws commands provided on the example, both locally on the gateway and from another linux client, I moved to what was really the objective: Test if we could use OpenIO as an external repository for an HCP.

For those who don’t know what HCP is, here is some info. It’s a very powerful product but it can also benefit of very large external storage for contents that became cold. For that purpose, it can connect via S3 with a compatible platform.

Please note that I’m not responsible for any kind of mishap that can happen to your data during the operations mentioned hereafter. They have worked for me (twice) and serve solely to demonstrate that OPENIO does work as an HCP backend. Performance, reliability and maximum number of files that can be deposited were not the objective for now.

So, assuming you have a working HCP and a working OPENIO cluster with a S3 gateway, this is what you need to do to get it as

Get the credentials of the OpenIO S3 portal
In my case, I use one of the Linux boxes previously used to test S3 access to OpenIO S3 gateway to issue “keystonerc_demo ; openstack ec2 credentials create”